Latest topics
» Firebird on Overhaulin'
Mon Nov 24, 2014 10:11 pm by The Firebird

» NWS Statements
Tue Jul 22, 2014 6:58 pm by The Firebird

» PVFA upcoming events
Thu Jun 26, 2014 4:45 am by TA78

» Car Show August 3 Raynham MA
Wed Jun 25, 2014 3:55 pm by BanditRich

» Pioneer Valley Firebirds Events 2014
Tue Jun 17, 2014 11:47 pm by Steve

» 7th ANNUAL NECF POTLUCK COOKOUT, Sunday, June 15, 2014
Tue Jun 17, 2014 2:48 pm by The Firebird

» PVGTOA 16th Annual Show 6/1 Agawam Mass.
Wed May 28, 2014 6:13 pm by TA78

» '84 Recaro T/A, 5 speed, uber-rare Y81 Ttop-Delete, $1950
Thu May 08, 2014 2:50 pm by The Firebird

» Dream Car Sprint
Tue May 06, 2014 10:16 pm by Steve

» Grease Monkey Garage
Fri May 02, 2014 6:05 pm by tajoe

National Firebird & Trans Am Club
 

 

Charter Oak Firebird’s Club Web Site
Firebird Nation of North America's Club Web Site.

Pioneer Valley Firebird Assn Web Site
Massachusetts Firebird Car Club

Opinions on Repairing Metal for an Air Filter Assembly

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Opinions on Repairing Metal for an Air Filter Assembly

Post by 69_RAG_TOP on Thu Nov 17, 2011 1:06 pm

OK. It is getting colder outside and most of us are starting to put away our Firebirds for the season.
I started a little early this year taking apart some of the items that need repair with one of my cars.

I have the original air filter assembly for the 1969 Pontiac Firebird. It has some metal damage near the end of the intake horn. It is possible that someone stepped on the intake many years ago and hammered it back. Look at the pictures. Anyway it looks bad.

I would like to hear some of your ideas on the best way to fix this metal back to the way it looked.

Since it is curved and the metal opening is somewhat oval this metal repair is going to be a lot harder than just hammering out a flat piece.

Any one have any ideas?






_________________
Get your motor runnin'. Head out on the highway Lookin' for adventure. And whatever comes our way. 1978 Pontiac Trans Am WS6, W72 Engine. bored .030 over Coded WC, 4-speed, Forged rods, pistons, 6X Heads Hays performance clutch, Flowmaster 40 Series 3" stainless dual exhaust, Hooker super competition, Ceramic coated long tube headers, 4 core HD radiator, Edelbrock Performer Series Carb
avatar
69_RAG_TOP
Global Moderator
Global Moderator

Posts : 626
Join date : 2010-05-03
Age : 58
Location : Southeastern Connecticut

http://www.charteroakbirds.com

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions on Repairing Metal for an Air Filter Assembly

Post by mr71transam on Thu Nov 17, 2011 3:52 pm

I have repaired the open ends on my air filter assembly. If you want I well be willing to give it a try for you. I sure I can't make any worse. I will be up at Jim's shop in Beacon Falls in a few week and if you want I'll have him give it a try. PM me if you are interested.

_________________
Charter Oak Firebids Member
avatar
mr71transam
Founder
Founder

Posts : 1397
Join date : 2010-05-03
Age : 69
Location : Waterford, CT

http://www.charteroakbirds.com

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions on Repairing Metal for an Air Filter Assembly

Post by mr71transam on Sun Jan 13, 2013 12:00 pm

Larry how is the repair going?

Rick H

_________________
Charter Oak Firebids Member
avatar
mr71transam
Founder
Founder

Posts : 1397
Join date : 2010-05-03
Age : 69
Location : Waterford, CT

http://www.charteroakbirds.com

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions on Repairing Metal for an Air Filter Assembly

Post by 69_RAG_TOP on Mon Jan 14, 2013 4:03 pm

I did not want to make the metal worse. I It is best to find body shop metal shapers and reshape the horn tube assembly.
Most of these tools are available but they are expensive and I don't want to invest in these unless I plan on doing future bodywork,

I just may have to give it to a bodyshop guy like Jim who can do it professionally. Can you PM me his contact info?

_________________
Get your motor runnin'. Head out on the highway Lookin' for adventure. And whatever comes our way. 1978 Pontiac Trans Am WS6, W72 Engine. bored .030 over Coded WC, 4-speed, Forged rods, pistons, 6X Heads Hays performance clutch, Flowmaster 40 Series 3" stainless dual exhaust, Hooker super competition, Ceramic coated long tube headers, 4 core HD radiator, Edelbrock Performer Series Carb
avatar
69_RAG_TOP
Global Moderator
Global Moderator

Posts : 626
Join date : 2010-05-03
Age : 58
Location : Southeastern Connecticut

http://www.charteroakbirds.com

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions on Repairing Metal for an Air Filter Assembly

Post by Brother Al on Mon Jan 14, 2013 11:31 pm

Ouch, that's a nasty biff... Sorry to see it and I hope you can get it squared away.

_________________
_____________________________________________________________________________
1984 Y84 Trans Am S/E "Recaro Edition" L69 H.O., T-5, 3:73, G80, 54K orig miles
_____________________________________________________________________________
Last of the RPO Y84 Black and Gold Trans Am S/E's"
_____________________________________________________________________________
May the Tin Indian and JZD Rest in Peace
Prius, Proof that people will buy Anything, (Baaaa Baaa)
All the Answers to our Problems can be found in the Boneyard!
God Bless America & those who serve & have served our Country!
avatar
Brother Al
Member
Member

Posts : 132
Join date : 2010-10-01
Age : 41
Location : Westfield, Ma

http://www.necamaro-firebird.org

Back to top Go down

Re: Opinions on Repairing Metal for an Air Filter Assembly

Post by Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum